Mess-up Monday: The Ghost Effect

If you have been reading my blog for any number of weeks, you have likely noticed the abundance of cat pictures posted. What can I say? I don’t have kids. So, Misfit Kitty has the pleasure of being my photography subject on many occasions, and is the subject of this week’s Mess-up Monday post.

I was going through some pictures on my DSLR from my Wordless Wednesday post from two weeks ago and noticed this:

Messup Monday: Misfit KittyI was testing some lighting options, along with my shutter speed, and didn’t realize that Misfit Kitty had wandered in front of my camera at the moment. In the past, I would delete shots like this thinking they were a waste of space. However, something caught my eye in this shot (the movement? the texture of his fur?) that made me pause.

Below are a few Photoshop tricks I used to make this outtake something special:

  1. I used the Patch Tool to get rid of the outlet on the wall behind Misfit Kitty. It was the first thing I saw when I looked at the photo, but I didn’t want it to be the focus.
  2. I ran a Vintage action (my favorite is from The Pioneer Woman), but set the opacity to 67%, so that the photo wasn’t too dark. If you don’t have a Vintage action, you can get the same effect by making the photo monochrome with heavier blue tones, adding some overall blur to the photo, and making some adjustments in “Curves” for contrast.
  3. I added an extra edge burn to the outside of the photo to further focus the viewer’s attention on the feet in the photo.

Here’s what I ended up with:

Ghost PhotoThe end result feels like one of those creepy photos that someone captured in a haunted location. Or maybe it represents the remnants of a dream.

Today’s lesson? Don’t throw out all of your outtakes. Consider how they may be used to create something unique.

Have you used this concept before? Comment below.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Messup Mondays, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mess-up Monday: The Ghost Effect

  1. I like it! It does look like a dream.

Leave a Reply

