The Sundance Film Festival: Why I Don’t Want To Be Famous

First, I want to say that I realize I completely fell off the blog structure band wagon this past week. It’s for good reason though! Read below to find out why and get ready for me to be back on my blog structure next week.

Have you ever dreamed of being famous? I have. I’ve always wanted to be a rock star. There’s just one problem…I can’t sing! However, after attending this year’s Sundance Film Festival, I’ve decided that being famous is not as glamorous as I had thought. In fact, I’m thankful I’m not famous.

Let me back up. I was extremely fortunate to attend the festival in Park City for work. While on the job, I met some really interesting people (including celebs). I’ve been gone since last Wednesday, and was just too exhausted to blog while I was away. Now that I’m back in Colorado, I’ve had some time to reflect on the celebrity lifestyle. Here’s what I learned.

1. Celebrities Get Pounced On Wherever They Go
I’m not just talking about paparazzi. My company had three different locations setup at the festival. I spent most of my time in the Fender Music Lodge behind this counter:

Celebrities were ushered through this location for photo and video shoots. I could tell every time a celebrity walked in, because a crowd appeared and all of the brands (including me) setup in this location did best their to get their attention. “Try this on!”, “Eat this!”, “Look over here!” Here are a few shots I took among the madness:

Jon Heder (aka Napolean Dynamite)

Coco (Ice-T's Wife)

Elijah Wood

2. Fake Smiles Abound
Ok, so I’m not necessarily complaining about the fake smiles (see photos below), but it’s evident that celebrities are trained to smile on cue. The instant the photo opp was done, the deer in the headlights or “get me the heck outta here” look reigned supreme. The glamorous, exciting, “I’m having so much fun” look we see in magazines and TV is just that…a look. Not reality. Most of the celebs I saw looked as exhausted as I felt! I did get some great photos though.

James Marsden and Me

Luther Campbell (From 2 Live Crew)

For all you Twilight fans, the guy to the right of me (your right, not mine) in the photo below plays Jasper in Twilight. He and the rest of the band were great! They seemed to genuinely be having fun.

100 Monkeys

3. Your Flaws Are Magnified
This is probably the number one reason I don’t want to be a celebrity. Everyone is watching and criticizing what you do and how you look. Here’s a great example:

Kate Bosworth

The hottest topic of conversation about Kate Bosworth was how skinny she is. Too skinny. I happen to agree, but this topic was buzzing around whenever Kate appeared. The sad thing is, if she put on weight everyone would be talking about she packed on the pounds! Hollywood is a very strange world.

Overall, I’m glad I was able to attend this year’s Sundance Film Festival. It’s an experience I certainly won’t forget.

What about you? Have you experienced the celebrity lifestyle? Would you want to live it?

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Sundance Film Festival: Why I Don’t Want To Be Famous

  1. Sandy Scott-Greene says:

    Love how you expressed your view and experience;nice read!

  2. I agree with #1 and #3. I halfway disagree with #2. The only reason that any one of these celebrities are famous is because of their fans. I don’t think that the smiles are fake. I do think that there are some self absorbed celebrities that think that they deserve the credit or attention. I think that in the moment 85% of those celebrities are happy to pose with a fan. I can say from personal experience that just because someone is famous does not mean that they are ready to write you off as soon as your 30 seconds with them is over. When I was 13 I had the opportunity of meeting Danny Glover at a premiere event catered by Planet Hollywood. Not only did he sign an autograph but the man talked to me for 15 minutes and never made me feel that I was just another face in the crowd, I was thirteen, a fully matured adult :-). I can smile on cue as well, it is not a parlor trick obtained by a trained actor. Just my opinions.

    • You bring up an interesting point Jason. I don’t disagree that many celebrities love speaking with their fans. Actually, most of the celebrities I met were really nice. You’re also right that most of us can smile on cue, but we’re not called to do it nearly as often as celebrities are. I’m just not sure I could handle having to smile and “play nice” ALL the time. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Pingback: The Sundance Film Festival: Why I Don't Want To Be Famous … | Celeb Oasis

  4. Ingrid says:

    You saw some serious celebs and Jasper looks hot. Ha – such compelling comments. That said, I think I would want to be famous for a short amount of time. I have to admit, every time that I feel badly for a celeb b/c they have skirt around crowds or deal with having their picture taken, I remember how much money they make. Then I’m fine with them having to be annoyed in public places. All they have to do is go on a European vacation to get out of the limelight.

    • Hahaha…Yes, Jackson Rathbone (Jasper) is super cute in person. And you’re right…celebrities make a ton of money, so I can’t feel too bad for them. Maybe if I made millions I wouldn’t mind being pounced on all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

