Tuesday Tip: Practice Photography Every Day

Last year was my first “real” photography year. I say that, because 2011 was the first year with my digital SLR and the first year I started blogging. I’ve always enjoyed taking photos, but it wasn’t until last year that I really started to pay attention to photo composition, exposure, etc.

While having a nice camera can certainly help take your photos to the next level, it’s still only a piece of equipment. As Misfit Dad likes to say, “It’s not the camera. It’s the person behind the camera.” You’ve heard it before, but practice makes perfect! So, for today’s tip, I wanted to give you some ideas for practicing photography every day.

  1. Always Carry A Camera With You
    No, you don’t have to lug your DSLR with you everywhere you go. I realize that’s not practical! With today’s technology, specifically smartphones, it’s much easier to have a camera with you to capture a shot at any given moment. I have the new iPhone 4S and the camera is pretty decent, but any camera will do. If you’re walking down the street and see something interesting, snap a pic! Here’s one I did the other day while on a walk during my lunch break.Power Lines
  2. Choose One Subject, 7 Different Shots
    In my opinion, a good photographer can take one subject and create different emotions simply by changing how she photographs that subject. Why not give it a try? Choose something in your house (your pet, a plant, a light fixture) and take a different photo of that subject each day. Try different angles, use different photo filters, or use other props to make each shot different. This task will challenge you to look at your subject in all possible ways.
  3. Add Photography Into Your Routine
    We all have daily routines; some more rigorous than others. For example, each morning I do the following in the exact same order: I wake up, shower, put my make-up on, blow-dry my hair, get dressed, brush my teeth while making my bed, feed the cat, and make myself some chai. Try adding just 5 minutes a day to your routine for photography. Keep the timing consistent and you’ll be more likely to practice every day.

Do you practice photography every day? If so, what are your tips? Comment below.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Tuesday Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tip: Practice Photography Every Day

  1. Cinthya says:

    It’s easy for me to practice eveyday because I have three boys so over the years I’ve improved at my photography skills but I didn’t care about composition and lighting until about two years ago and believe me I still have a long way to go. My tip would be to take pictures of anything interesting you see through out the day.

  2. Love the 7 shots idea. I may just have to do that one! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

