Forget Skiing; Let’s Snowshoe!

I don’t like skiing. There, I said it. I’m a Colorado native, and skiing is not my favorite winter-time activity. In fact, I’ve never actually been skiing, but I have been snowboarding. Despite growing up in Colorado, I didn’t even try snowboarding until I was in my 20s. The first three times I went, I slammed my head into the ground more than a few times. I did get to a point where I could make it down the mountain quickly, and I even had a few enjoyable days on the mountain. But then a couple years ago, a foot injury made snowboarding more painful than it was worth. That was the end of my snowboarding career.

Despite my disdain for skiing, I absolutely love the snow. So, like a good Coloradoan, I replaced skiing with another winter sport: snowshoeing. Below are pics from a trip my friend Hilary and I took today. The trail was about 30 minutes from my house, where the sun was shining and the temperature was 50 degrees. We snowshoed with snow falling on us the entire time. It’s amazing what 30 minutes can do to the weather!

Snowshoeing

At the start of the trail

Snowshoeing

The snowshoeing trail

Snowshoeing

Snow drifts

Snowshoeing

Evergreen closeup

Our attempt at a self portrait

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Forget Skiing; Let’s Snowshoe!

  1. Robin says:

    Looks like fun! I want to try snowshoeing. I like cross-country skiing, but think I would like snowshoeing better. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Hello Wendy,
    Although I haven’t cross-country skiied for years and don’t plan to ever again, I much prefer snowshoeing. With snowshoeing you can enjoy the scenery more instead of it whizzing by!!
    Lovely pictures you took on your snowshoeing trip.

  3. Heather says:

    Sorry, I left my post above and realized after I posted, I missed the “s” in http://www.snowshoescanada.com
    Dah!! I’m not sure if you can correct it.
    We plan on taking a snowshoe trip to one of our parks in the near future, but not today it’s to cold…was 26 below F, last night…brrrr.

Leave a Reply

