Aspens: A Natural Horror Show?

I had taken pictures of the Aspens here in Colorado a few weeks ago, but haven’t had the chance to put them up on my blog yet. I decided to do a little research on aspens to go with my post tonight and came across some interesting, or shall I say horrific, legends about aspens. With Halloween just a week away, who wouldn’t love a scary story? Ok…you caught me. These legends are posted on Wikipedia, the not-so-reliable source, but at least they’re interesting! Here are the legends; along with some photos. Enjoy.

Legend has it…that aspens can drive off evil spirits. Thus, they are typically planted close to dwellings. (My theory? They drive off any other plant life, because once you plant one…an entire grove grows!)

Legend has it…Judas Iscariot hanged himself on an aspen tree, which is why its leaves have been trembling with horror ever since.

Legend has it…aspen stakes are one of the few weapons suitable to kill a vampire.

Legend has it…a bigger aspen stake can be driven into the grave of a person condemned to damnation to prevent them from rising from the dead. Creepy!

Legend has it…I just think they’re a beautiful tree!

Have you heard any of these legends before? Have some to add? Comment below.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aspens: A Natural Horror Show?

  1. I have not heard any of the legends, but I do know you those are gorgeous photos!
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Robin says:

    I’ve heard of some of the legends but only because I looked up info about aspens after our last trip to Colorado. I loved the trees so much I wanted to know more about them. Your photos are beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

