Rainy Day Photography

Fall has finally arrived here in Colorado today. We woke up to rain, 40 degree weather, and snow in the mountains. I love it! What I should be doing right now is cleaning the house and going grocery shopping, but that sounds boring. So instead, I’m finding any way possible to avoid those two things…thank you photography.

I took this shot of rain drops on a window.
Rain Drops

Then I decided to see what it would look like in infrared.

Rain Drops in Infrared

Next I did some research online to see if anyone had cool tricks for editing rain drop shots. All I could find were tutorials on how to add fake rain drops into photos. (I might have to try that sometime). So I did a gradient on the original photo. Not my favorite, but kind of interesting.

Rain Drops Gradient

Finally, I decided to play around with some of the distortions in Photoshop. Here are two of my favorites: pinch and plastic wrap.

Rain Drops Pinch

Rain Drops - Plastic Wrap

That ate up a good hour and a half. Now what? Hmmm…I think there’s some very important reason that I have to drink chai.

Happy Saturday everyone!

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy Day Photography

  1. Robin says:

    lol! Who needs a reason, important or otherwise, to drink chai? 😀

    Interesting processing. I like the plastic wrap best. I’ve been playing with that one in Photoshop, too. Have you tried using Picnik? (It’s online and a lot of processing tricks are free.) They have a focal zoom that might be good with those raindrops.

Leave a Reply

