Fall in Boulder

I have a love/hate relationship with Boulder, CO. It’s always been that way between her and me. She is described as the “People’s Republic of Boulder”. A liberal, affluent anomaly in the middle of this red state. When we were a red state that is. Of course…Boulder’s shopping mall was WAY better than the one in my town, so my friends and I would hop in the car and make the 20 minute trek from our hometown. Plus, we could always count on seeing someone pierced, tattooed, dressed in goth, or folding himself into a tiny box. (Seriously…check out this YouTube video).

I also went to college in Boulder and have spent the past 7 years working there. I recently switched jobs and let’s just say…the scenery is a bit different than Boulder. What I miss about her is the Fall. The vibrant colors of mature trees along Boulder Creek Path. The last few weekends of the farmer’s market. The sound of the Buffs getting beat in football. The wide array of lunch choices at Whole Foods. (Check out my friend Stephanie’s blog for a peek at the new Whole Foods).

So, I took my FJ in for an oil change this past Saturday and decided to spend the afternoon taking pictures in Boulder. For old times sake. That also happened to be the last day I drank a diet coke. I’m giving it up. Hopefully for good. If I go crazy and start posting photos of people drinking soda everywhere, you’ll know why.

Back to the pictures. Here’s a few of my favorites.

Fall in Boulder, CO

The leaves were just starting to change color, but they looked magnificent with the sun shining down on them. P.S. No Photoshop work was done on the sun. I got lucky. 😉

Ducks

I got about a foot away from this duck and grabbed my camera. It didn’t move. It did blink though. I know this isn’t a goose, but all this duck talk got me thinking. Why don’t geese migrate from Colorado anymore?

Ducks

Meet Mr. and Mrs. Mallard. They can sleep while they stand. On one foot. I wish I could do that!

Boulder Farmer's Market

I strolled through the infamous Boulder Farmer’s Market, but made a huge mistake. I didn’t bring any money with me. And I had been walking for over an hour and was starving. I can’t even begin to explain the smells wafting from this place.

Boulder Farmer's Market

I love the colors in this photo. I didn’t even know purple carrots existed before I took this photo. They seem suspicious to me. Have you ever tried one?

I also spent some time up taking photos of the aspens up in the mountains. Photos to come soon!

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall in Boulder

  1. Beautiful photos Wendy! But I have to be honest, I’m more shocked that you gave up Diet Coke! Good for you!

  2. Debbi says:

    Love those photos! That first one especially – the sunburst is perfect!

    And congrats on giving up DC. I did it about three years ago and switched to nothing but water (for someone who wasn’t crazy about water, now I can’t seem to get enough!) It was the best thing I ever did!

  3. Robin says:

    Beautiful photos. You got very lucky indeed with that first one. 🙂

    I like Boulder. It’s one of my favorite cities. I’m sorry we didn’t get to visit Boulder this year. It is a city I would love to live in.

Leave a Reply

