Photography: Eating Your Subjects

Was cannibalism the first thing that popped into your mind when you read the title of this post? Me too! Not sure what that says about me…or you for that matter. I hate to disappoint, but this post is not about eating other people.

I once read that in order to taking amazing photographs, you simply need to photograph amazing subjects. I suppose this statement depends on how you define “amazing”, but I am often pleasantly surprised at how something so simple, such as the things we eat, can make amazing photographs. Enter…organic kale.

Kale is in season in Colorado and our grocery stores have the organic version straight from our local farms. The color and shape of the leaves are beautiful up close and the water droplets add an extra element of interest to this photo.

Now check out the black and white version…

I photographed this kale directly underneath our kitchen lighting, which provided great contrast for creating this black and white beauty. Without color, it almost looks like coral found under water.

Now, to stay true to my post title, I wanted to share my favorite kale recipe which I stole from a dear friend of mine. (Miss you Lauren!). This recipe is easy and is the perfect alternative to potato chips.

Step 1: Wash and dry off the kale using a paper towel.

Step 2: Tear the leaves off the stems and lay the bite size pieces on a non-stick baking pan.

Step 3: Spray or sprinkle the kale with extra virgin olive oil. (Use just enough to lightly coat).

Step 4: Place kale into the oven at 375 degrees and bake for 5-10 minutes until kale is dry and crispy, but not brown. (The batch I made tonight ended up brown, because I was editing the above photos and forgot to check on my kale!).

Step 5: After you take the kale out of the oven, sprinkle with sea salt to taste.

Voila! A photography subject plus snack.

What other food items have you photographed that you are surprised by?

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Photography: Eating Your Subjects

  1. Debbi says:

    Hmmm, interesting. I will have to try this. BTW – photos are excellent!

  2. Thanks Debbi!
    Side Note: I’ve been meaning to tell you I like the new blog name and layout!

  3. Sounds good. Great photos too!

Leave a Reply

