Maternity Photo Ideas

One of my biggest weaknesses (or shall I say “growth areas”) as a photographer is portrait shots. I have a hard time capturing the emotion around still shots of people, but really admire photographers who do this well. So, I asked some friends who were expecting if I could do a maternity photo shoot to capture the joy of the moment, but also challenge myself a bit.

Below are some of my favorite photos from the shoot. I would welcome your feedback!

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Maternity Photo Ideas

  1. Robin says:

    I think they look great. I particularly like the first series in black & white. They look like they’re having fun.

    I am not good at portraits either. I did an engagement shoot for my youngest son and his (now) wife, and it took us all a while to get silly enough to end up with some good shots.

  2. Thanks for the feedback Robin! Do you have the photos from your son’s engagement on your blog somewhere? I’d love to see them.

  3. Robin says:

    I have one or two posted, mostly just for fun rather than the more serious variety. (This reply might end up in your spam folder since I’m leaving links.)

    http://bogsofohio.wordpress.com/2009/06/08/just-for-fun/
    http://bogsofohio.wordpress.com/2009/06/07/

  4. Michelle Wilson says:

    These are great! I like the playground belly one. 🙂 And the one where the camera is above her, very cool perspective. I have seen some shots with mama blowing bubbles, blocks on the belly spelling out the name, mama sitting on a swing, sitting in a rocking chair reading a book to baby, or putting head phones on the belly, daddy kissing baby belly, fun ones where dad is looking at the belly like, “Hmmm” and mama looking down at her belly like, “I don’t know what happened!” LOL Just have fun with it, the before baby comes stage is fun because parents really have no idea what to expect, but are so stupid excited about it. I wish I had gotten more pregnancy pictures done. Those are moments that will always be cherished, and I sure wish I could hang them on my wall. The next baby we have you are taking some for me, please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

