5 Ways To Stop And Smell The Roses

You may (or may not) have noticed that I’ve been somewhat absent from my blog lately. It wasn’t until earlier this week when I was doing some blogger outreach for a client, that I realized I had hardly posted anything over the past few weeks. “I’ve been busy” would be an understatement at this point, but in honor of my New Year’s resolution, I won’t go into it.

This evening I was smelling the roses (literally) and decided that I should think up some ways to de-stress and then blog about them so I can read them later when I’m having my bi-monthly freak out. (Yes, I freak out pretty much every other week. Ask My Stronger Half…he loves it. LOVES it!).  So, here are 5 ways to “stop and smell the roses” as they say. Plus, a photo of my rambling roses that has finally bloomed!  This IS a photography blog after all.

Rambling Roses

1. Stop and the smell the roses. Literally. A few years back, scientists in Japan found that smelling certain fragrances (including roses) affect our bodies in a way that helps reduce stress. So sniff away!

2. Help someone in need. When I’m stressed, I have a tendency to be extremely selfish. Ok, I’m just down right a pain in the ass! But there’s nothing like helping someone else in need to puts things in perspective. Buy a homeless man a cup of coffee. Donate clothing you don’t wear anymore. Listen to a friend complain about something going wrong in her life. The point is…there are usually more important things in this world than the things we are stressing about.

3. Breathe deeply. I learned this technique during one of my many years of therapy. I highly recommend it. Breathing that is. Actually, therapy too. We all have a lot to learn about ourselves. Back to breathing. You better believe there’s an iPhone app to teach you how to do this. Check it out!

4. Stuff your face with ice cream. Ok, I realize this is exactly the opposite of what you’re supposed to do. And probably the reason obesity is such a big problem in our country. But there’s something about Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup ice cream that melts away my stress.

5. Take action. This one may be most important of all…and I really suck at it. If you’re working too much; ask for help. If you’re unhappy in your relationship; speak up. If you’ve stuffed your face full of ice cream and feel major regret; do some exercise. Often we get so caught up in complaining or stressing about something, we forget we’re in control of our own lives!

What do you do to ‘stop and smell the roses’? Keep the list going with a comment below.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 Ways To Stop And Smell The Roses

  1. Kel says:

    this week I have been ‘smelling roses’ literally…well kind of
    it’s winter here, so we have the woodheater on a bit, with a pot of water on top to keep moisture in the air…and i’ve just started sprinkling rosewater into it, adds a very soft scent to the house

    another way I ‘stop’ is to mindfully brew and drink a pot of tea

  2. Robin says:

    I really like #4. 😀

    Yoga, tea, walks outside… those are some of the ways I stop.

    • Hahaha…I debated about putting #4 in there, but that’s what I was thinking at the moment. 🙂 Yoga, tea, and walks are all great suggestions too. Thanks for sharing Robin!

Leave a Reply

