My First Half-Marathon: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

Running The Colorado Half-Marathon

Well, I did it. I ran my first half-marathon this past Sunday in Ft. Collins, Colorado. After months of training (and complaining!) I finally did it. I started running back in college, but never had the competitive desire to do a race. Getting beat by hundreds of other runners would hurt my ego. Or so I thought.

Last Fall, I met my friend Lindsay at mile 20 of a marathon she was running and was really intrigued by the energy of a race. Then…I saw Al Roker run a marathon. I thought to myself, “If Al Roker can do a marathon, I should be able to run at least half of one!” The training began.

Luckily for me, I have a great friend who works for Native Eyewear and was able to get into the Colorado Half-Marathon, which had already booked up. (Thanks Jax!!). Here’s the good, the bad, and the ugly from my first race ever.

The Good

Colorado Half-Marathon

  • I finished! (That was my only goal)
  • And…I just happened to finish in the timeframe I was hoping for. I ran an average mile pace of 10:20. Not bad for a newbie.
  • I didn’t cry. That was a serious concern of mine for some reason. I’m a crier.
  • I had a TON of fun. I found myself smiling during the race, even at the end.

The Bad

Colorado Half-Marathon

  • I froze my butt off before the race. We were bused up the canyon at 5:30 a.m. and it was only about 40 degrees.
  • I huddled next to the port-a-potties to stay warm. Not my finest hour, but it kept me slightly warmer than some of the other runners.

The Ugly

Colorado Half-Marathon

  • I didn’t drink enough water after the race. Dehydration = major headache. I spent most of the afternoon curled up on the couch in pain.

Everyone keeps asking me, “When are you running your next half-marathon?”  ARE YOU PEOPLE CRAZY? Ok, so maybe I’m already thinking the same thing. Maybe.

*Thanks to Misfit Mom and Misfit Dad for taking photos.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My First Half-Marathon: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

  1. Suburban Misfit's Sister says:

    There’s one at the end of Feburary that i’m about. It’s in FL of course, but maybe… 🙂 Your niece would be **VERY** excited if you did it with me!!

  2. Erin Pickard says:

    Nice Wendy! That’s awesome. Proud of you. 🙂

  3. Congratulations, Suburban Misfit, I’m so proud of you! You look fantastic and I’m glad you had a good time. We’ll get you signed up for another one very soon — but I’m not going to tell you that until after your two weeks of not running.

  4. Pingback: 10 Tips For Your First Half Marathon | Suburban Misfit

Leave a Reply

