Misfit Photo #7: Color Isn’t Everything

For my birthday, My Stronger Half’s family bought me Creative Black & White Digital Photography Tips and Techniques by Harold Davis. I was traveling to Chicago this past week and had a chance to read through the first half of the book on the plane. I have always loved black and white photography, but this book has taken my motivation to the next level. Over the next week, I am going to play around with some of the techniques mentioned in the book and will post them for you to review!

The first one is this week’s Misfit Photo. I’ll describe it using a quote from the book. “The fact that one is viewing an object in black and white doesn’t negate the fact that we know the object has color. We tend to visually impute color to the subjects of photos…”.Β  Well? Any guesses on what color these flowers are?

Flowers in Black & White

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Misfit Photos, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Misfit Photo #7: Color Isn’t Everything

  1. Luke Kunselman says:

    I love black and white photography too. I think that the picture has to be so much better to stand out without the assistance of color. I look forward to seeing some of your black and whites. (I would say the color is yellow.)

  2. Robin says:

    Hmmm…I’m guessing either pink or orange. No idea why.

    It’s a gorgeous shot. I love the way black & white brings out textures, lines, and form.

  3. Pingback: How To Use Photoshop’s Channel Mixer For Black and White Photos | The Suburban Misfit

Leave a Reply

