Extreme Couponing

CouponsNo – This post has nothing to do with photography. And Yes – I realize I’m a photography blogger. BUT…I just can’t help myself. My Stronger Half and I just finished watching Extreme Couponing on TLC, and I’m determined! Determined to become a crazy couponing lady that is. The people featured on this show buy thousands of dollars worth of groceries and pay only dollars. I’m talking about a savings of 98% people!! That’s crazy. And awesome. And…I want to figure out how to do it. I have been very blessed to have financial stability, but why not be a better steward of the money I work so hard to make?

Now, a Facebook friend of mine pointed out that these women spend hours each week searching for coupons and deals. It can easily be a full-time job, and I don’t need another one of those. So, I did some research and found a way to be a semi-crazy couponing lady without spending half my life doing it. The answer? The Krazy Coupon Lady. This blogger was actually featured on the TLC show, and she knows what she’s doing. Each week she posts the best deals at grocery, discount, and drug stores. It’s brilliant really. She does all the work…and I benefit from it!

For example, I found out through her blog this evening that through this Saturday, you can get Colgate toothpaste at Walgreens for FREE. Yep. Free. If you have a Walgreens near your home (and let’s be honest…they’re on basically every corner in suburbia), then this is a no brainer! There’s a limit of 1 toothpaste per customer, but I’ll bring along My Stronger Half for double the fun.

I have a tendency to be OCD as it is, so couponing could become an addiction for me. However, I’m trying to keep the bigger picture in mind. If I’m a better steward of my money and spend less on food, I can pay my car loan off earlier. Or make a couple extra payments on my mortgage. Or invest in something with My Stronger Half for our future. Oh the possibilities.

Do you coupon? I would love to hear your tricks!

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Saving Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Extreme Couponing

  1. Robin says:

    I used to coupon, but then I found that I was getting stuff we don’t use/need/eat. Most food coupons usually fall in the category of processed foods, and I save more money by not buying processed foods (buying dried beans, for instance, instead of canned).

    But I could always use some free toothpaste. 🙂

Leave a Reply

