Yep. It’s Still Winter.

Yesterday I had another lunch break photography session in the neighborhood where I work. It was snowing. A lot. The night before I had been inspired by a post on Digital Photography School about staying motivated to photograph nature during this somewhat drab time of year.  What better way to put this inspiration to use than to get out in the cold weather?

I actually love winter time, by the way. Being a Colorado native, I live each season to the max before moving on to the next. I find that digital macro photography is especially beautiful in the snow, because you can often capture individual snowflakes or the sparkle of frozen water. So, take a look at what I shot.

First, I just have to give you an idea of how much snow was around. I’m thinkin’ this motorcycle is going to be here for a while.

Ok, now to the good stuff. I love how this photo shows each individual piece of snow as part of one lump sum.

I love a good chain picture. What’s great about this shot is you have no idea which way you’re looking. Up? Down? Is it horizontal? I’ll keep you guessing.

Tangent. Why the heck don’t leaves fall from the trees anymore? And why the heck don’t geese fly South for the winter anymore? And where do birds go when it’s -10 degrees outside? These are the questions that boggle my mind. Scary, I know.

And last, but not least. My favorite shot of this photo shoot. Doesn’t this look fake? Like those snow-covered letters you put in a flyer or something. This is an address on the side of one of the buildings. I love the contrast of the red brick with the black numbers and white snow. Love it, love it, love it.

What are your best winter photos? I’d love to see them, so comment below with a link.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yep. It’s Still Winter.

  1. Robin says:

    The chain shot is way cool. You’re right about the snow on the numbers. It doesn’t look quite real. Well done!

    I’ve been posting almost nothing except winter photos (with the occasional travel photos thrown in when I get tired of looking at snow and ice). Enjoy your snow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

