Lunch Break Photography

Gee…the title of my blog post would make an interesting company name. Anywho. It was snowing today in Colorado, so I decided to take a quick walk during my lunch break at work. The neighborhood where my office is located is very eclectic, so I always find something new to photograph. Today I came across this tandem cruiser bike.

I decided to take my own advice and photograph this same bike using different color finishes to see if I could change the mood of the photo. Here’s the black and white version:

And the Old West version:

I think this one is my favorite. I used the Chalk and Charcoal filter in Photoshop to get this effect.

It’s amazing to me how one picture can be so different just by changing up the finishes. What are your favorite Photoshop tricks?

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lunch Break Photography

  1. Can’t say I have ever used any type of editing software.

    Raven

    • I just checked out some of the photos on your blog and they are stunning! (The coffee cup one is my favorite). I have found that editing software is great for average shots. I just had my point-and-shoot at work today, instead of my DSLR. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Robin says:

    Mostly I do a little tweaking (sharpening, brightening, etc.) which is probably an under-use of Photoshop, but occasionally I like to use the Orton Effect to soften things up or give it a magical feel.

    I really like the last one, too. You’re right about how the different effects change the mood.

Leave a Reply

