Time To Revisit Your New Year’s Resolution!

Today is January 31st, which means it was exactly one month ago that I made my New Year’s Resolution. In case you missed that exciting day on Suburban Misfit, you can read about my resolution to stop complaining here.

If you are anything like me, you make New Year’s Resolutions and then completely forget about them until half way through the year. By then, there are always way too many good excuses as to why I never accomplished them. Not this year though! I’m making an effort to reflect on my resolution and make appropriate adjustments wherever I can.

So here it goes…have I quit complaining? Uh…well…you see…there’s this thing…ok NO. I still complain. A lot actually. I complain about work. I complain about finances. I complain about driving on icy roads. The list goes on and on.  So, I decided I should come up with a to-do list for revisiting my New Year’s Resolution to help keep me on track. I figured this list might help you too, so here it goes.

  • Take a minute to remember why you made your New Year’s Resolution. I have a hard time managing stress and realized that complaining just added on to that stress. I made my New Year’s Resolution to decrease stress and be more encouraging than discouraging.

  • Look for ways (even small ones) that you have made progress. My Stronger Half would probably laugh at this, but I have stopped complaining about ALL my aches and pains. Now, I just choose which ones I want to complain about most and stick with those. That’s progress…right?

  • Write down 2-3 smaller goals that will help you better achieve your resolution. One, I’m going to stop complaining if I have to work late, because there are a lot of people out there who aren’t fortunate enough to have a job at all. And two, I’m going to write down some of my complaints in a private place instead of airing them to other people.

How are your New Year’s Resolutions coming along? Comment below. I’d love to hear!

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time To Revisit Your New Year’s Resolution!

  1. For you to batten down the complaint hatches, instead of giving up, means you are for serious! I think this resolution is great. I know exactly what you mean. My job was Cah-razy today in emergency service for my travel company. But I didn’t stress, I just took each call and helped all that I could (we had over 600 calls between 7 people). 🙂

    No complaints here. Ice tomorrow? Bring it on! My resolution is to flourish. I’ll be studying my photography books. 🙂

  2. I agree wholeheartedly with your list to stay on track. Excellent post! It’s always important when reaching toward goals to remember: WHY you are doing it; WHAT is being accomplished and HOW you are going to meet it. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Robin says:

    Great tips. I had to laugh at the second one as I’ve done something similar (trying to be a little more choosy about which aches and pains to complain about…lol!).

Leave a Reply

