Misfit Photo #3: Beauty from Shambles

I didn’t get a chance to post a misfit photo last week, but I’m hoping you can forgive me. 😉  I have a thing with flowers this week, probably because there are none to be found outside right now. Things are terribly brown and crunchy, which I find rather depressing.

I took this photo back in 2009 while I was doing a project for a new housing community. This weed (yes…it’s a weed!) was popping up amidst a pile of construction materials. If you look closely in the bottom left, you’ll see bright orange, plastic netting. The black background is weed fabric, which I find rather ironic.

Isn’t it funny how we can see something we normally despise in a different context and find beauty in it?

The Weed

Photography Tip: I added a texture over this photo using Layer Styles in Photoshop. I used the Bevel and Emboss Texture, but you can also add patterns on top of your photos with the Stroke feature. Sometimes it’s nice to add a little kick.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Misfit Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Misfit Photo #3: Beauty from Shambles

  1. Robin says:

    It’s a very pretty weed and apparently I have a thing for very pretty weeds as I am unable to pluck them from my vegetable garden as I should. I like flowers of all kinds, even if they are weeds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

