Workaholism Is Bad For Blogging

I’m having an intervention. With myself. It’s been 4 days since I wrote my last blog post and it’s all due to a little something called workaholism. Somewhere between the time I got my first job (age 15) to now, I have picked up this habit…or maybe you can call it addiction.

I think about work all day. I dream about work. I sometimes login to my work email over the weekend, just because I’m curious. The problem is…the more I work…the more I keep working!

So, this blog post is an intervention with my workaholic self. “Self”, I say. “This has got to stop. Time to respect boundaries. Time to respect life. Time to blog”.  And so here I am. Sick as a dog (probably from working too much and not sleeping enough). Blogging. And I love it.

I edited this photo tonight as a visual reminder to myself to respect life and all it has to offer. (I also submitted this to The Pioneer Woman Photography Assignments on Flickr. There are some amazing photos in this group, so be sure to check it out!)

What keeps you from blogging?

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Workaholism Is Bad For Blogging

  1. ~michelle says:

    Hey Wendy! Saw your post on FB and thought I would come check out your blog friend. I miss you. 🙂

    We started a family blog but don’t post often enough (only once every couple weeks right now). Work and kids are keeping me from blogging, but I’ll be done with my job soon so I’m planning to post much more often. It’s pretty therapeutic, so I really should do it more.

    • Great to hear from you Michelle! I have actually seen your family blog. I read about your trip to CO for DCC. Sounds like an amazing time. Hope you and the family are doing well. I miss you guys.

  2. I used to have that same addiction. And then I got delivered! Have to admit I’m loving life again! (And I loved my work as well, but life is so much better and sometimes one is sacrificed for the other.) Balance yourself and you can love both!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Workaholism Is Bad For Blogging | The Suburban Misfit -- Topsy.com

  4. Robin says:

    Balance is important. 🙂

    Your flower is very beautiful. I submitted one, too.

  5. Tamara says:

    I know exactly what you mean… I can never seem to leave work, at work. I talk about it, think about it, dream about it- check my work email several times in one day, even though I KNOW nothing has probably changed, but something MAY have… lol! It’s exhausting! And it really shouldn’t be that way. I’m like you in that I’ ve been non stop working since I was 14 (Boulder County Youth Corp at 5.50 an hour! ha!)- I think maybe it’s time we both give our minds a break!? We’ve earned it! We need to just let work handle themselves, when we’re not there.

    Keep blogging Wendy- you definitely inspire me to do the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

