4 Reasons I Love Our Nation’s Capital

Last night I returned from my trip to Washington DC, which was short but productive. I have been to our nation’s capital at least 10 times (half for business and half for pleasure) and am always pleasantly surprised by my time there. I didn’t bring my SLR with me, but was able to grab a few shots with my iPhone. (However, I did borrow the first photo from Flickr Creative Commons).

So here it is…a list of the top 4 reasons I love Washington D.C.

  1. The History.
    The Lincoln Memorial is my favorite stop in D.C. I get chills staring up at him and thinking about all he accomplished in his lifetime. The great thing about this city is that everywhere you go, there’s a piece of history waiting to be uncovered.
  2. The View
    Whether it’s from your car or you hotel room, there’s so much to look at in DC. People, lights, monuments, or in this case the sunset. This photo was taken from my hotel room right as the sun went down. (Sorry for the blur…the iPhone camera doesn’t do well in the dark!). 

    A Washington D.C. Sunset

  3. The Food
    Oh man. The food. So many choices, so little time. This is a photo of an Ethiopian dinner I had one night at Dukem on U Street. If you have never tried Ethiopian food, I highly recommend it. 

    Ethiopian Dinner at Dukem

  4. The Accidental Discovery.
    As I mentioned in a post earlier this week, we stumbled upon a divine chocolate shop while walking the streets. There are so many little shops throughout D.C., it’s hard not to accidentally discover something great.  

    Chocolate at Biagio

    What about you? Have you ever been to Washington D.C.?

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 4 Reasons I Love Our Nation’s Capital

  1. Robin says:

    I’ve been there several times and enjoy it just as much, if not more, each time we go. My husband are were just there last month for a couple of days.

    I so want to try Ethiopian food in a restaurant. I’ve cooked it (from recipes in Sundays at Moosewood cookbook). We almost went that route during our last trip to D.C., but our friends decided on something else instead.

    • I remember seeing pictures from your D.C. trip! If you go back anytime soon, definitely check out the Ethiopian restaurants in town. We have one in Colorado near my office, but the restaurant we ate in D.C. was even better.

  2. lindsaybrust says:

    I LOVE D.C. My favorite thing to do is go for a jog around the mall. I especially love going with people who haven’t been there before. We always end up discovering something new and interesting. There is so much history and so much beauty. Glad you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

