Black & White, Plus Some

What’s black and white with just a splash of color?
If you guessed a zebra with its tongue sticking out, you’re close. The answer is: my favorite kind of black and white photography! (And just for the record…Yes, I did have framed Kim Anderson photos hanging up in my room as an adolescent in the early 90s. What hopelessly romantic girl didn’t?)

I use a black and white finish when I want photos to appear timeless and classic. I use color when I want emotion and warmth to radiate from my photos. And when I want to smile? I choose one color or one object as the centerpiece and make the rest of the photo black and white. Seeing just one bright color charge its way through the black and white surroundings puts a grin on my face. Call me crazy, but it works every time.

Here are some examples.

Cockle Doodle Doo

The Break

I Yearn for Vino

A Forgotten Tale

Sometimes...It Just Has To Be Pink

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black & White, Plus Some

  1. Love, love, LOVE them. One of my faves in processing also! And to make it even simpler, I found a preset group for LR that has selective coloring. It works great, most of the time. There are those photos that still need a little more tweaking, but for a quick fix, it’s wonderful.

    Have fun and stay young ~ Debbi

  2. Robin says:

    Fun!! Wonderful use and assortment of selective coloring. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Trying To Remember What Summer Feels Like | The Suburban Misfit

Leave a Reply

