Channeling Narnia

She began to walk forward, crunch-crunch over the snow and through the wood towards the other light. In about ten minutes she reached it and found it was a lamp-post. As she stood looking at it, wondering why there was a lamp-post in the middle of a wood and wondering what to do next, she heard a pitter patter of feet coming towards her. And soon after that a very strange person stepped out from among the trees into the light of the lamp-post.
~The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, C.S. Lewis

The Lamp-Post

I woke up this morning to more snow in our sleepy neighborhood and decided to take a walk to the local park. As I was approaching, I saw this bridge and lamp-post and immediately thought of C.S. Lewis’ description of Narnia in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. (I love that book!). I looked around to see if a Faun would appear, but sadly one did not. I got some great pictures though!
I decided to play around with this same picture in Photoshop to see what different effects would do to the look and feel.

The Lamp-Post - Old West Style

The Lamp-Post - Black & White

The Lamp-Post - Vintage

This one is my favorite. I like the grainy texture and sepia tones of old photographs. This Photoshop effect makes the picture look like it was taken the early 1900s.

I’m off to daydream about Narnia. And Turkish Delight.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Channeling Narnia

  1. What a great capture and fun versions. I’m having a hard time picking my fave, but I actually think the original is it. I like the hint of blue from the sky. Almost looks like it was photoshop’d that way. Also the contrast of the b&w. All are great!

  2. I LOVE the “old west style.” I would use that all the time! I definitely regret not getting out to take some pictures for myself. Such a beautiful weekend!

  3. Robin says:

    What a great find and capture! The first one is almost painting-like. Beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

