Misfit Photo #1: An Entryway

Misfit: One who is considered to be disturbingly different from others.

This definition of a misfit comes from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language and describes my own perception of self quite accurately. I mentioned in the About Me section of my blog that I feel oddly out of place in my suburban neighborhood. The truth is…I often feel slightly out of place no matter where I go.

It wasn’t until recently that I realized that being out of place can sometimes be a beautiful thing. Photography showcases this thought perfectly. Items that are “disturbingly different” often make photos more interesting and engaging to the eye. So, I have decided to post one Misfit Photo per week with this theme. Here’s the first photo:

Misfit Photo

An Entryway

My backyard fence lines up perfectly. Plank to plank. Except for one. This misfit serves as an entryway to our backyard for furry little creatures. They come and go as they please. This plank is their entryway.

Photography note: I used the quick edge burn action from PW Actions to make the edges of the photo darker. It helped enhance the misfit plank.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Misfit Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Misfit Photo #1: An Entryway

  1. Love this picture and the theme! Looking forward to more.

  2. Robin says:

    I think this will be a great theme, and you’re off to a great start!

  3. Pingback: How To Get Inspired By Eating Chocolate | The Suburban Misfit

Leave a Reply

