Mac ‘N Cheese With Chicken (For Two)

I love cooking, but it can sometimes be a challenge in this misfit lifestyle of mine. I cook for two, not an entire family. My weeks are busy, so spending hours in the kitchen just ain’t happenin’. And My Stronger Half is a protein junkie. (If it were up to me, I’d eat cereal every night for dinner.)

Occasionally, I come across a recipe that I can modify to fit my lifestyle and make both myself and My Stronger Half happy. Last night, I took The Pioneer Woman‘s recipe for Macaroni and Cheese and made it my own. Here are the modifications I made:

  1. Cut the recipe in half. There’s only two of us after all.
  2. Used half cheddar and half mozzarella cheese, because that’s what I had in my fridge.
    Cheddar and Mozzarella
  3. Limited the dried mustard. My Stronger Half is not a big fan, and I didn’t want the flavor to be too noticeable.
  4. Added shredded chicken from a store-bought rotisserie.
    Mixing the Macaroni
  5. Set the broiler on high after the dish had been baking for 15-20 minutes. I love the taste of cheese when it starts to brown.
    Macaroni and Cheese with Chicken

The result? A protein-packed meal for two!

A quick sidebar: I go back to work tomorrow after 10 days off. This will likely mean that my blog posts will be published at night, instead of during the day. I hope to keep blogging daily, but we’ll see what happens.

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mac ‘N Cheese With Chicken (For Two)

  1. I also cook for two and my other half loves the protein. I did get him to eat one veggie recipe. Good luck back at work!
    http://luvwhatyoudo.wordpress.com/

    • How did you trick your other half into eating vegetables? Do tell!

      • I didn’t give him any other option : ) He is very picky about his veggies and some of his fruits (he thinks bacon is a food group). I have used some of the Jessica Seinfeld recipes to sneak veggies into his food. I think she even puts cauliflower in her Mac N Cheese. Ps we’re a bit out of place in our suburban neighborhood too!

Leave a Reply

