Why I Started a Blog

For Christmas, My Stronger Half and one of his family members bought me Seasons 1 and 2 of Mad Men. (If you haven’t seen it, the show is about the Madison Avenue advertising industry in the 1960s. It’s chock full of cigarette smoking, drinking, advertising copy, and big egos.)  I was planning on spending this entire week of vacation curled up on the couch, drinking chai and watching the plot unfold.

That is…until our TV decided not to turn on last night. What can I say about this TV? Well, it came with My Stronger Half when we moved in together this past April. It channeled the mid 1990s when “flat screen TVs” took up half the room. Plus, as of late, it had decided to show everything in a Christmas theme…red and green that is. Nevertheless, this TV was part of my daily routine. It was a way to wind down after a long day of work. It was a common place for my honey, Misfit Kitty, and me to spend time together. Sadly, this TV is no more. (I would have posted a picture, but My Stronger Half already found somebody off of Craig’s List to pick it up).

So now…we have this.

Not bad, you say?

Ugh. Look at the wiring mess. Even Misfit Kitty was looking at it like it was less than ideal for our TV watching needs. When the budget allows, maybe I’ll buy something bigger, and newer. Until then…add this to the list of reasons I’m a misfit: “20-Something still watching TV on a 27″ screen while her peers enjoy their brand-new 60″ LED flat-screens”.

The outcome? I’ve started to seriously question my addiction to TV. I mean, I’m complaining because I can’t watch Mad Men on something larger than a 27″ screen! What is wrong with me?

The solution: find other, more productive things to do with my free team. Thus, The Suburban Misfit blog was born.

What about you? What do you do in your free time, other than watching TV?

About Wendy from Suburban Misfit

Social Media Manager by day; blogger and amateur photographer by night.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I Started a Blog

  1. Robin says:

    Sounds like the perfect reason to start a blog. 🙂

    As for me, I spend too much of my free time blogging.

  2. Pingback: 2011 In Review | Suburban Misfit

Leave a Reply

